Read the following NZ Herald article: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/world/news/article.cfm?c_id=2&objectid=10794527


Use DeBonos Thinking hats to respond to the article.  When you post, write which hat or point of view you are coming from! Be sure to justify your responces!


Red Hat: How do you feel about this? Use your intuition, opinion and emotion! -

Yellow Hat: What is positive about this? What are the benefits? Why would this idea work well? -

Green Hat: What alternatives do you see? Think about this creatively! -

White Hat: What are the facts and information?  -

Black Hat: Think logically and critically. What are the negative aspects of this idea? -

Blue Hat: Think about the big picture? look at this overall.
saylah
3/25/2012 12:20:29 pm

Red Hat :
I feel so unhappy about this incident in Nigera because lots of people or residents in Nigera
are dying .In one part of the article people arested 4 mothers and 8 childrene which is so cruel I hope everyone agress with me .

Reply
3/25/2012 03:13:12 pm

Blue hat:
I agree because it is not right to force people against their own will. They made so many people lye face down on the floor, and yet close to the Sahara Desert. A lot of people were harmed in the northern Nigeria and isn't a good reputation to other country's. I hope everyone agrees with me.

Reply
Aakaash
3/26/2012 04:11:06 pm

I agree with Kathiravan. It is not right to force people against their own will.

Z!Ll
3/26/2012 05:52:49 pm

Ummm...
As far as I know Kathiravan, the people who were forced to lie down was meant to happen for their own good because when there was an cross firing going on, it was best for the people of Nigeria to lie down, in order to decrease the likelihood of get shot!!!

From Z!Ll

Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:09:58 pm

Great points everyone. Great thinking Zill! You are absolutely right. Reading between the lines can come in handy when trying to get the complete picture of what you are reading! :)

Aakaash
5/17/2012 07:02:33 am

I agree with Saylah and Kathiravan it is not right to force people against thier will. A lot f citizens in northern nigeris were harmed it is not something that will bring a good reputation

Nina
3/25/2012 03:20:37 pm

Iagree with you Saylah because those people have no right to harm others escpecially when they haven't done anything to you and they didnt think about the golden rule

Reply
Aachal
3/26/2012 04:35:09 pm

I agree as well, People shouldnt harm others when thet havent done anything to you.
There's always a GOLDEN RULE!

Sean
3/25/2012 12:21:51 pm

the negatives of this is that six people have beened killed as innocent and have done nothing wrong. also its quite a embrassment to there country because of this violence that Isn't neccesary another negative is that people are have to flee on foot and are to scared to go outside because of all this violence

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:19:57 pm

Absolutely! Great points.

Reply
Nina
3/25/2012 02:42:24 pm

My negatives were like the whole story it made me upset when I started reading. Ifelt sad about the six people who died and people getting really scared. Ialso heard that there were just sounds of rifles shooting endlessly

Reply
Sean
3/26/2012 02:16:27 pm

I with you it does make you a bit sad especially because people have beeen killed as innocent humans and it would quite destracting listening to all those rifles and guns shooting nand make people feel uncomfortable and not safe

Reply
junior
3/26/2012 07:03:58 pm

I completely agree with you Sean it would be really unsafe to hear rifles firing rapidly while you are right in the middle of it all.

Jessica
3/26/2012 02:56:03 pm

I completly agree with you, the sounds of rifles, people lying on the floor it must be so annoing and tiring ,those people should be ashamed and suffer the consequences their worser than osama binladin even he doesn't do this to his own country!!!

Reply
Z!Ll
3/26/2012 06:01:50 pm

I also acknowledged that the innocence have been finished off for the sake of their followers in the prison that are yet to come out, and to do that they have done so many stuff as Jessica said and totally admit with her.

From Z!Ll

Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:27:23 pm

Red hat: I feel the same as you all. It would be a horrible experience for anyone and is not something that anybody should have to go through. However, as mentioned above, when thinking with our yellow hat on: We can be grateful that it was not more than six lives taken!

Reply
ueleseafelee
3/26/2012 12:31:55 pm

the negative things about it is that it taking away peoples human right and thier is no right for them to have taken that right away from those nigerian people.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:28:32 pm

You are so right. It all comes down to basic human rights.. Human rights that these people did not receive :(

Reply
Jessica
3/26/2012 02:47:38 pm

blue hat:
when you look at what it's really about and why their doing this it's really immature their only doing this to legislate one rule...to strict sharia's law across the whole country even in the christian areas and make the authourity legetimize it.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:30:11 pm

I couldn't have said it better myself! You are clearly thinking very deeply and seeing the bigger picture. Great blue hat thinking Jessica !!

Reply
Tyrel
3/26/2012 03:35:46 pm

I feel so sorry to all the people and residents of nigeria that have been injured and killed also lost their family members

Reply
Grace
3/28/2012 01:46:01 pm

I would aswell, feeling if I lost someone

Reply
Aakaash
3/26/2012 04:08:39 pm

Red Hat

I agree with all of you that it isn't right to randomly start a violent attack like this. The families of the six deceased victims must be devastated to see, hear and witness this very sad story. Even with no relationship to the people in the attack I feel shocked and sorry for these unlucky victims. It must have been very scary to be in the middle of a war as bullets whizzed past your head.

Wish I could do something to help!

Reply
Peaches
3/26/2012 04:16:19 pm

I am happy that it was just 6 people who died it is still very sad but I would rather it was that number, in stead of 60 or 100.I do hope you understand.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:31:32 pm

Great! It is good to see you thinking with a different hat on Peaches! You are very right :)

Reply
Jurnee
3/29/2012 04:03:25 am

I tottaly agrre with you Peaches. I'm so happy it was hundreds or millions that died. This incident is so immature.

Reply
Peaches
3/26/2012 04:19:19 pm

Sorry, but for my first comment it was a yellow hat

Reply
Peaches
3/26/2012 04:29:09 pm

Red hat:through out out this horrifying story I could picture pain and hear screams of terror,so I felt disgusted that people can do that and feel no guilt.Also that there are real people who can do that to defencelse poor peolpe.I do hope you get what I am saying.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:33:06 pm

I know! I really cannot comprehend how one human being could do such a thing to another.

Reply
Aachal
3/26/2012 04:31:57 pm

Black hat:
Innocent people got killed while others like small children and Elders were hid inside scared. It's not right to start a fight just because you feel like it.

Reply
Zill Darji
3/26/2012 05:05:17 pm

HeY EvErYbOdY, I Am GoInG To TaLk FrOm ThE GrEeN HaT...

In this article there is no point/goal/reason that the terrorists are doing this for, so if you/anyone thinks about it then.........
-from my point of view there is no alternatives for this piece of text, however one of the things anyone could do is give, the money, or whatever they ask for from the government
because I think it would be an 'worth it' choice a decent man would make.

May the innocence R.I.P
FrOm Z!Ll

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:36:00 pm

You cannot put a dollar value on human life. I like your suggestion Zill... I am sure that any of the families who lost loved ones would have paid ANY amount to keep their loved one alive.. No matter what it took. If only someone could have done that for them before it was too late. :(

Reply
junior
3/26/2012 05:27:46 pm

All those innocent six people shouldn't have been killed from such a random attack,it is so sad to hear this devastating story I just hope nothing like this ever happens again.I just wonder how those who lost there loved ones feel like. I just wish I could do something about this sad story.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:37:04 pm

I know how you feel! Maybe next time I will post a happy, positive story :)

Reply
Kenny
3/27/2012 01:21:42 pm

I argee with Junior because I mean 6 people died, not much but it does hurt around to the other people related to them. So the estimated total of upset people of those would be about 50 or less or more!!! ):

Reply
Z!Ll
3/26/2012 05:42:09 pm

HeLlO PeOpLeS, It'S Me AgAiN AnD ThIs TiMe I Am GoInG To TaLk FrOm ThE WhItE HaT......

The facts and info I got from this text is that the sect, is not taking this seriously as they are doing an outrageous amount of devastation especially when they annihilated the innocence meaninglessly...

From Z!Ll

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:38:33 pm

Awesome. Those are the facts I wanted you to take from the text :) Your vocab use has been great throughout your replies too Zill. Thank you for your numerous insightful replies :) Miss H

Reply
Chang-Sern
3/26/2012 06:18:39 pm

Yellow Hat:
This text is not a very positive one but from my point of view it was actually a pretty good ordeal.
Some people may not understand but actually only having a total of 6 people being killed was a very good thing.
The soldiers could have purposely shot hundred's of people but only a because of a few stray shots, 6 people died instead of a few hundreds.

Reply
Miss Hickmer
3/26/2012 06:40:29 pm

Peaches thought this too, and I agree! In looking at the situation in a positive light, we can see it could have been worse. Good on your for thinking with your yellow hat on Chang-Sern- It is sometimes hard to find positives in such negative, sad articles! :)

Reply
3/11/2013 03:17:09 pm

hi miss hickmer sorry to bother but the thing is when you write this is what you said good on your for thinking with your yellow hat.anyway black hat:oh nearly all of the territory was killed and that shouldn't be happening!!!!

Sophie Hickmer
3/11/2013 03:58:59 pm

Yes I agree it is negative overall Alexia... But we were just pointing out the positive in the fact that it could have been worse.... Do you see what I mean?

junior
3/26/2012 06:38:48 pm

Red hat

I feel devastated about this incident that had took place in Northern Nigera, those people had no right to murder those six innocent people its just so cruel to hear that these people suffer.

Reply
3/12/2013 01:41:20 pm

yes agree to you to miss hickmer i quite much as well pointed it out to you in a good way and finally oscars back in its right fill place.oh and by the way junior you have a joyful destination and what i have to say to it...red hat:oh i feel very sad for that interrupt to the northern Nigeria and its just not positively good the violence they have is BAD!!!!

Reply
junior
3/26/2012 06:50:13 pm

yellow hat

This article is mostly on the negative side but there is one thing I can say about the number of lives were lost,its good that it was only 6 instead of 100 or 25.

Reply
faaiu sonny bill williams
3/27/2012 08:22:10 am

red hat: I feel very sad and unhappy about this acident ,and I also have to agree with saylah because good people should not be killed.two mens were seriously wounded ia a car bomb.I hope u agree with me
sonny bill williams thankyou!!

Reply
Kole Walker
3/27/2012 01:00:24 pm

Red hat

I fell out raged that sect had rejected having a peace talk with Nigeria's government.They could have at least seen what there offer was before rejecting them.

Black hat:

Their are a lot of negative things about this violence, like the Nigerians being forced to lie on the ground for there own good, and even worse, knowing that your own homeland and people are dying but you are to weak to do anything to stop it, and know if you attempt to try and help it would all end in a blood bath.

Reply
M@thew
3/27/2012 01:07:48 pm

Blue Hat:
It would be terrifying to hear gunfire near a place most people who live there call home & to see soldiers around the street or right next to you.I would agree with most comments. (yea buddy)

Reply
Kenny
3/27/2012 01:16:22 pm

Red Hat:
I feel so upset about all this violence that has happened just a few days ago...
I mean who can people do such a horrible thing!!!
Like as a local resident said, Haruna Babayo, they never heard such loud and endless of gun sounds, forcing them to scamper into their homes and other motorists had to escape on foot because of the traffic.
(If this comment is related to another comment,sorry because I didn't read any comments!!!)

Reply
Gerome
3/28/2012 02:29:19 am

Red Hat
It feels so depressing, all because of a random violence attack in Northern Nigeria, just a few days before.It is just such an immature thing to do, all this violence; death; bloodshed, nothing can bring it back to normal. All the Nigerian people will be shocked and in fear. Nigeria will have a long time with no peace but just remembering the awful memories that happened in their nation.

Reply
kini
3/28/2012 04:07:56 am

read hat-I fell so sad for those who had to take part of this imature thing.

Reply
May
3/28/2012 04:22:05 am

Red Hat
I feel so sad for the people who has been through this devastating attack. It is so harmful to the people who has died and has been tortured through this event.

Reply
Obra-Jade
3/28/2012 04:28:38 am

Red Hat
My deep feelings for 6 innosent people died after a car bomb explosion esspecially when they did nothing wrong. Many others had to abandon their vehicles and get to safety on foot. My feelings are very sorry for nigeria to suffer with multi deaths of relatives.

Reply
Jurnee
3/28/2012 07:01:27 am

Red hat:
Ifeel so upset to hear that 9 innocent people got killedand i am shocked to hear that homes are detroyed and blood has been spilt.

Reply
kini
3/28/2012 09:57:20 am

ME TO I FEEL VERY ANGRY FOR THOSE GREEDY PEOPLE.

Reply
Damiax
3/28/2012 12:39:37 pm

red hat, I feel sad for all those poeple that died and those people that loss there lives, very sad, lucky im in NewZealand

Reply
urdad
3/28/2012 12:45:08 pm

pretty funny damian but i feel the same way az u bro it is pretty sad for them people dieing and people being forced to lay on da ground i would hate 2 b dem man i feel sorry

Reply
Natalie
3/28/2012 12:53:36 pm

Blue hat
I think that the explosions and gunfire in Maiduguri must have been really bad by reading the sentence the gunfire and the explosions echoed through the city.

Reply
urdad
3/28/2012 12:54:01 pm

black hat

there r alot of negitive fings about this article like the Nigerian people being forced to lye on da ground for there own good and also seeing every one running and dieing man by the time they r finished that will end up as blood bath for every one

Reply
Grace
3/28/2012 01:44:36 pm

Feelings and Negatives
Overall I just feel miserable and intensed. I just feel really bad for all humans who were going through this situation out there, as having weapons targeting/targeted at them or just killed. Its very disappointing to find out . that people of greed, violently forcing over the limit of two hundred people, to lay on grounds for their own good,knowing that their homeland was going to be destroyed, realising they couldn't do anything about it, as it took them until the following morning. And also for the terrified people, as they are afraid to flee on foot outside of the boundaries, having all that violence occuring.And I think human rights should be involved with this situation. Violence should be the last and only thing coming final in this world.Have mercy on all those people that were killed, involved and fighting for the're country.

I hope you agree with me 8)
From Gracy macey (SKUXX)

Reply
Jurnee
3/29/2012 04:07:12 am

I agree with where your coming from Grace. This is so such a immature thing to do by making other peolple suffering like this. It's so disastrous.

Reply
Jurnee
3/29/2012 04:10:00 am

Tottaly agree with you Grace. These peopl have no right to make others suffer from this. It is such a immature thing to do and i hope these people will find the right path and finally do the right thing.

Reply
Nina
3/30/2012 04:29:39 pm

Hi Rm 2 I Nina want to share my thoughts about my feelings. In my opinion and I am saying to you right now that I feel very upset about EVERYTHING that has happened to the Nigera people. After I read that story I was amazed at what my eyes were looking at, I felt angry and depressed and I hope that it won't happen to them again.I hope to those who died will live in peace and not in a place where you get threatend

Reply
Grace
4/1/2012 03:24:29 pm

For week 2 HOMEWORK
Feelings Hat
Coming from me, the video is comparing things from the previous days. Its comparing its technology, the populations, and also the communication.So I think teachers are teaching us the differences and that we are lucky enough to have the technology, population and the commuication that we have today. So I feel lucky and grateful.
HOPE YOUS AGREE WITH ME.
GRACE SKUXX

Reply
$e@n
4/2/2012 12:38:21 pm

RED HAT: I feel that it is great that the world is developing new technology I also feel that teachers sould try prepare us for this as this is what we are going to be working with in the future. I also feel we should still use the old technolgy like books so it doesn't become a thing of the past and they don't go out of igsestants

Hope you all agree with my comment

Reply
Peaches
4/2/2012 03:15:55 pm

Black Hat:The part I thought wasnt the best part, was when I saw that in the past they were more focused on there work and not on there texting,calling and there e-mailing but now that is mostly the problem.

Reply
Peaches
4/3/2012 04:15:45 pm

Red Hat:I feel that this video does have very good comparison from before and now, also I could see that progress is still going, but this clip makes technology look so amazing, but when you go on internet and write in'' violence'' you will realise what this technology can expose.Also other things...more and more.

Reply
Saylah
5/1/2012 03:46:52 am

Red hat
I feel really proud of this boy because he obviously loved his family and tried to save his two younger brothers but he belived he wouldn't reach them so jumped out the closed window with lots of cuts, bruises and burns which is sad

Reply
3/11/2013 01:51:04 pm

saylah and peaches is right about a sad boy that has violence in his life very sad and NO people shouldn't be treated with bad violence

Reply
3/18/2013 03:36:04 pm

HI EVERY ONE MY NAMES A$AP AND I FELT BAD FOR THE INTERRUPT YO KNOW WHAT I"M TALKING ABOUT YO I JUST WISH THAT GOD THINGS COUD JUST HAPPEN IN THE END OH RED HAT?

Reply



Leave a Reply.